选择你的中国合同法域

一个新客户最近给我们的国际制造团队发送了一份与他们中国供应商的合同。他们希望我们审查该合同(该合同是由一名驻深圳的中国律师起草的)。我们的客户听说中国律师有时会与交易另一方的中国公司勾结,而不是与他们的外国(在这种情况下是美国)客户合作。见中国合同起草骗局:从糟糕到更糟糕。我发布我们的互动,是为了强调在起草中国制造合同的争议解决条款时,没有一个放之四海而皆准的解决方案。

特别是,客户对他们的合同有疑问,因为合同要求在深圳通过仲裁解决争议,而他们知道其他 "有经验的大公司在合同中写明,所有争议必须在美国的法院解决。"

我们对他们的答复如下:

在与中国公司签订合同的99%的情况下,你最不希望看到的是在美国通过诉讼解决你的纠纷。如果我们在合同中看到这一点,我们立即认为写合同的律师不知道他们在做什么。我们美国律师接受的培训是希望在我们的主场解决争端,所以如果我们的客户在洛杉矶,而交易的另一方的公司在纽约,我们会希望争端在洛杉矶解决。但对于与中国打交道的美国公司来说,这一规则是错误的,因为中国不执行美国法院的裁决。见中国执行美国的判决:这几乎没有改变什么。这篇文章是2017年的,但从那时起没有什么变化。

你的合同是以英语为主要语言写的,在深圳用英语仲裁。这很好,尽管我们一般倾向于在中国用中文进行诉讼(更快、更便宜、更有力)。但是,如果我们把这份合同改成这样,我们就需要审查和修改合同的整个中文部分,然后我们可能会对它进行相当大的改动,我们怀疑这对你来说是否值得。然而,我们确实建议,当你开始与一家新的中国工厂进行生产时,你可以让我们将你的中国生产协议修改为中文,并在中国的法院解决争议。我们这样说是因为那时可能会有意义,重新开始,签订一个更以中国为中心的合同,以中文作为主要语言,等等。那份合同会比这份合同短,因为这份合同中的很多内容是不需要的,因为它自动成为中国法律的一部分。这是你的决定。请理解,如果我们认为这份合同真的有问题,我们会说你必须付钱给我们重新做,但我们没有看到这一点。

你在外面看到了什么?

阅读更多

诉讼和仲裁

Choosing Your China Contract Jurisidiction

A new client recently sent our international manufacturing team a contract with one of their China suppliers. They wanted us to review that contract (which had been drafted by a Chinese lawyer based in Shenzhen). Our client had heard about how Chinese lawyers sometimes work in cahoots with the Chinese company on the other side of the deal, and not with their foreign (in this case American) client. See China Contract Drafting Scams: From Bad to Much Worse. I am posting our interaction to emphasize how there is no one-size-fits-all solution when drafting a dispute resolution clause for a China manufacturing contract.

In particular, the client was having doubts about their contract because it called for disputes to be resolved by arbitration in Shenzhen and they knew of of other “experienced, major companies that write into their contracts that all disputes must come to courts in the United States.”

Our response to them was as follows:

The last thing you want in 99 percent of all situations when contracting with a Chinese company is to have your disputes resolved by litigation in the United States. If we see that in a contract, we immediately think the lawyer who wrote it does not know what they are doing. We American lawyers are trained to want our home court for a dispute so if our client is in Los Angeles and the company on the other side of the deal is in New York, we would want disputes to be resolved in Los Angeles. But that rule is wrong for American companies dealing with China because China does not enforce US court rulings. See China Enforces United States Judgment: This Changes Pretty Much Nothing. This article is from 2017, but nothing much has changed since then.

Your contract is written with English as the main language and arbitration in Shenzhen in English. That is fine, though we generally prefer litigation in China (faster, cheaper and more powerful) in Chinese. But if we switch this contract to that, we would need to review and revise the entire Chinese portion of the contract and we would then likely change it quite a bit and we doubt it would be worth it to you for this one contract. We do, however, suggest the next time you starting manufacturing with a new Chinese factory you have us revise your China manufacturing agreements to be in Chinese with disputes to be resolved in China’s courts. We say this because it will probably make sense at that time to start all over and do a more China-centric contract, with Chinese as the main language, etc. That contract would be shorter than this one because a lot of what is in this contract is not needed because it is automatically a part of Chinese law. It’s your call. Please understand though that if we thought there was something really wrong with this contract we would be saying that you NEED to pay us to re-do it, but we are just not seeing that.

What are you seeing out there?