纽约CAURD:许可证申请的评分和选择

我们一直在写关于纽约有条件成人使用零售药房("CAURD")的许可资格标准(这里这里)。除了大麻管理办公室("OCM")的方便的常见问题外,它最近还公布了一个评分标准,在合格的申请人满足每一类合格申请人的最低要求后进行评分:1)商业标准申请人和2)非营利性标准申请人。

长话短说:一旦申请人达到了最低要求,拥有完整的、经过核实的申请书的申请人就有资格被打分,并被选中获得临时CAURD执照。

在每个区域内,根据每个资格标准,申请人将按照下面概述的计分标准计算的分数进行排名。得分最高的申请人,如果将该地区列为第一选择,在该地区分配或可用的许可证数量范围内,将被选为该地区的临时许可证。看来,申请人要想保证自己喜欢的地区获得临时CAURD执照,唯一的办法就是得最高分。

计分标准

申请人将根据他们是属于商业标准还是非营利性标准而得到不同的评分。虽然OCM没有为以下每个因素设定具体的数字指标,但他们指出,以下因素在申请评分过程中的权重会更大。

对于商业标准的申请人来说,评分过程中权重最大的因素包括::

  1. 如果与大麻有关的定罪是在单独控制自己的正义的所有者或父母、法定监护人、子女、配偶或受抚养人身上;
  2. 如果相关的逮捕发生在受到过度治安和大规模监禁负面影响的地区,或者在历史上家庭收入中位数较低的地区;
  3. 如果符合条件的企业具有与大麻药房类似的特征,如销售零售商品、库存管理、实体店和带薪雇员;以及
  4. 根据经营时间的长短、企业规模、净收入以及对州和地方法律、法规和规章的遵守情况来判断,申请人的合格商业经验的实力。

对于非营利性标准的申请者来说,评分过程中权重最大的因素包括:

  1. 与涉及司法的个人合作的历史证明,包括与这一人群合作的时间长度、董事会中有涉及司法的个人、为这一人群服务的项目支出比例以及社会企业的位置;
  2. 如果符合条件的非营利组织表现出良好的管理原则,如经审计的财务数据以及管理费用和项目费用的比例;
  3. 如果社会企业具有与零售大麻药房类似的特征,如销售零售商品、库存管理、实体店和带薪雇员;以及
  4. 根据经营时间的长短和企业规模判断,申请人的社会企业经验的实力。

重要的是,非营利性标准的申请者将与其他申请者分开评分和选择,确保所有申请者都有公平的机会被选中。

合格的CAURD执照申请人的选择过程

在申请CAURD执照期间,申请人可以从纽约州内所列的十四(14)个地区中选择最多五(5)个地区作为药房地点。每个地区的分配情况将在以后公布。纽约州的这些地区是布朗克斯、布鲁克林、首都地区、纽约州中部、手指湖、长岛、曼哈顿、中哈德逊、莫霍克谷、北区、皇后区、里士满、南线和西纽约。

在每个区域内,申请人将按照这里详述的评分标准的分数进行排名。将该地区列为首选的得分最高的申请人,在该地区分配的或可用的许可证数量范围内,将被选中获得该地区的临时许可证。

非营利性临时执照持有者将只从这种类型的最高分申请中选出,而不会与商业标准申请者混合。OCM还指出,由于预计非营利性执照持有人的数量较少,这些申请人将只在两个区域池中进行选择:纽约市和纽约州其他地区。

如果申请人之间出现分数相同的情况,而向每个分数相同的申请人发放执照会超过某一地区的执照人数限制,将采用随机选择程序。申请人被随机选择的顺序将是他们的最终选择顺序,并将决定谁能获得临时执照。

如果一个地区在所有申请人根据其第一地区偏好被选中获得临时许可证后,仍未达到其CAURD许可证分配量,那么选择该地区作为第二地区偏好的最高分申请人将被考虑在该地区获得临时许可证。如有必要,将考虑第三、第四或第五区域的偏好,直到该区域达到其许可证分配。

在与前一段有关的最奇怪的转变中,OCM指出,甄选过程将优先分配给申请人的第一区域偏好,即使这意味着申请人将被列入该区域地点的等待名单。在某一地区的等待名单上的申请人将被考虑在他们的申请中排名较低的另一地区进行选择。

看来,申请人可能仍在其首选地区的等候名单上,而不是获得其排名第二的地区。希望OCM能对被列入第一选择地区的等候名单与获得第二选择地区的执照之间的区别作出一些澄清。

阅读更多

许可证纽约

New York CAURD: License Application Scoring & Selection

We’ve been writing about eligibility criteria for licensure for the New York Conditional Adult-Use Retail Dispensary (“CAURD”) (here and here). In addition to the Office of Cannabis Management’s (the “OCM”) handy FAQ, it also recently published a scoring criterion to score eligible applicants after they have met the minimum requirements for each type of eligible applicant: 1) the business criteria applicant and 2) the nonprofit criteria applicant.

In this article:

Here’s the long and short of it: once an applicant has met the minimum requirements, applicants with complete and verified applications are eligible to be scored and selected for a provisional CAURD license.

Within each region and based upon each eligibility criteria, applicants will be ranked by scores as calculated in accordance with the Scoring Criteria outlined below. The top scoring applicants who rank that region as their first preference, up to the number of allocated or available licenses in that region, will be selected for a provisional license in that region. It appears that the only way an applicant can guarantee their preferred region for a provisional CAURD license is to score the highest.

The scoring criteria

Applicants will be scored differently, based upon whether they slot into business criteria or nonprofit criteria. Although the OCM has not put specific number metrics to each of the below factors, they noted that the following factors will be weighted more heavily in the application scoring process.

For business criteria applicants, the most heavily weighted factors for the scoring process include:

  1. If the marijuana-related conviction was on the justice-involved owner with sole control themselves or a parent, legal guardian, child, spouse, or dependent;
  2. If the relevant arrest occurred in an area that has been negatively impacted by over policing and mass incarceration, or has historically low median household incomes;
  3. If the qualifying business has similar characteristics to a cannabis dispensary, such as the sale of retail goods, inventory management, a physical store, and paid employees; and
  4. The strength of the applicant’s qualifying business experience, as judged by length of time in operation, size of the business, net revenue, and compliance with state and local laws, rules and regulations.

For nonprofit criteria applicants, the most heavily weighted factors for the scoring process include:

  1. The demonstrated history of working with justice involved individuals, including length of time working with this population, having justice involved individuals on the Board, the proportion of program expenses that serve this population, and the location of the social enterprise;
  2. If the qualifying nonprofit has demonstrated good governance principles, as shown by audited financials and the ratio of overhead and programming costs;
  3. If the social enterprise has similar characteristics to a retail cannabis dispensary, such as the sale of retail goods, inventory management, a physical store, and paid employees; and
  4. The strength of the applicant’s social enterprise experience, as judged by the length of time in operation and size of the business.

Importantly the nonprofit criteria applicants will be scored and selected separately from other applicants, ensuring that all applicants are given fair chance at selection.

The selection process for qualified CAURD license applicants

During the application for a CAURD license, applicants are able to select up to five (5) regional preferences from the fourteen (14) listed regions within the State of New York for a dispensary location. The allocations for each region will be announced at a later date. The regions of New York State are: Bronx, Brooklyn, Capital Region, Central NY, Finger Lakes, Long Island, Manhattan, Mid-Hudson, Mohawk Valley, North Country, Queens, Richmond, Southern Tier, and Western NY.

Within each region, applicants will be ranked by scores, as described in the Scoring Criteria detailed here. The top scoring applicants who rank that region as their first preference, up to the number of allocated or available licenses in that region, will be selected for a provisional license in that region.

Nonprofit provisional licensees will be selected only from the top scoring applications of this type and will not be mixed with the business criteria applicants. The OCM also noted that because of the anticipated smaller number of nonprofit licensees, these applicants will be selected within only two regional pools: New York City and the rest of New York State.

In the event of a tie between applicants where issuing a license to each applicant that had a tied score would exceed the limit on licensees in a given region, a random selection process will be used. The order in which applicants are randomly selected will be their final selection sequence and will determine who is granted a provisional license.

If a region does not reach its CAURD license allocation after all applicants have been selected for a provisional license based on their first regional preference, then the top scoring applicants who chose that region as their second regional preference will be considered for a provisional license in that region. If necessary, third, fourth, or fifth regional preferences will be considered until the region has reached its license allocation.

In the strangest about-face as it relates to the immediately preceding paragraph, the OCM noted that the selection process will prioritize assigning applicants to their first regional preference, even if that means an applicant would be put on a waitlist for a location in that region. Applicants on a waitlist for a location in a region will not be considered for selection in another region where they ranked lower on their application.

It appears that applicants may remain on a waitlist for their top region instead of being awarded their second ranked region. Hopefully the OCM will offer some clarity on the difference between being waitlisted for a first-choice region versus receiving a license in a second-choice region.

Read More

Licensing, New York